Simple, Fishy Cat Treats

I do not have children. I have cats. One day I hope to have children but I’ll have to speak to Sagan and Herschel about it and see how they feel. Needless to say, my boys mean a lot to me. With that in mind I want to treat my cats like I would my own family, by that I mean that I don’t want to give them food full of chemicals and nasties. I’ve read a bit on what is and isn’t good for cats and although they are not fussy eaters themselves (the local mouse population can attest to this) responsibly cat owners should be aware that there are certain foods that cats shouldn’t eat.

According to the PDSA “Cats are not vegetarian. They are true carnivores, so to stay healthy, they have to eat certain nutrients which are only found in meat or commercial cat food.  Feeding a complete, commercial cat food is preferable to a home-made diet: it isn’t easy to achieve the correct balance of nutrients if you make a cat’s diet yourself.” I don’t think it would make sense to attempt to make the cats dinner myself, it would cost a lot and I want to make sure that they receive a balanced diet. BUT all cats (especially little piggy ones like my Sagan) love treats. Like humans they must adhere to the motto everything in moderation to avoid becoming fat cats but by making my own I can ensure that their treats are chemical free and natural.

Lucky for me, Becky at The Cookie Rookie is as cat mad as me and has created this simple and tasty recipe. I’ve adapted it a bit for British cooking and to make the whole process a bit more eco-friendly (no I don’t own a mixer) but please have a go and let me know if your furry friends love them as much as mine do!

Simple, Fishy Cat Treats

  • Servings: hundreds of biscuits
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2 small tins salmon or other fish (undrained)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups or about 240g whole wheat flour

Directions

  1. Mix the tinned fish (water and all), egg and flour together in a large mixing bowl. Add a drop more water if the dough is too dry. Add more flour if it is too sticky.
  2. Now preheat the oven to 175°c. Roll out the dough on a floured surface until about the thickness of a pound coin and then cut into small bite-sized shapes.*
  3. Place the treats on a baking tray lined with baking paper and cook for about 15 minutes (in our fan oven) until crispy and browned.
  4. Allow to cool and store in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

* NB: I used a small cookie cutter meant for sweets. And it made about 200 treats and took me over an hour! I recommend cutting the dough into strips length ways and then into squares by then cutting width ways. Saves a lot of time, and let’s face it: the cats are too busy scoffing their treats to care what they look like!

Rose. x

Sagan enjoying his healthy treats!

Please Note: I accept no responsibility for the success of this recipe. Remember that these are treats for good cats and cat obesity is a real problem so don’t over feed them! Take the cat to the vet if you are worried about any side affects as cats can have allergies just like humans.

Leave a Reply

